central ohio certified fraud examiners association

About The Central Ohio ACFE

central-ohio-chapter_highresWe are the Central Ohio Chapter of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (COACFE), the official local chapter of the ACFE®.

COACFE was founded in 1992 and has a membership of about 100 members. Our members work in a variety of industries including finance, government, insurance, security and academic. We also have a good representation of students at various local universities interested in pursuing anti-fraud careers.

In addition to regularly scheduled luncheons with insightful and engaging speakers, the Chapter co-sponsors the annual 2-day Emerging Trends in Fraud Investigation and Prevention conference held in Columbus, Ohio. The 2016 Conference drew 683 attendees from around the region.

The Chapter has previously donated approximately $10,000 in equipment to the fraud divisions of local police departments through Chapter community service projects. Our Chapter also provides financial support to the ACFE Richie-Jennings Scholarship program.

Our Mission

The mission of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners is to reduce the incidence of fraud and white-collar crime and to assist the Membership in fraud detection and deterrence. To accomplish our mission, the ACFE:

  • Provides bona fide qualifications for Certified Fraud Examiners through administration of the CFE Examination
  • Sets high standards for admission, including demonstrated competence through mandatory continuing professional education
  • Requires Certified Fraud Examiners to adhere to a strict code of professional conduct and ethics
  • Serves as the international representative for Certified Fraud Examiners to business, government and academic institutions
  • Provides leadership to inspire public confidence in the integrity, objectivity, and professionalism of Certified Fraud Examiners

COACFE Board of Directors

President
Melissa Smart, CFE

Mid West Electronic Crimes Manager
Global Security & Investigations
JPMorgan Chase & Co.
(614) 248-3057
melissa.b.smart@jpmchase.com

Vice President
Chrissie A. Powers, CPA/CFF, CFE, CVA

P.D. Eye Forensics, LLC
309 South Fourth Street, Suite 319
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: 614.722.7914
chrissie.powers@pdeyeforensics.com

Secretary
Danny Case, CFE, CPA

American Electric Power Service Corporation
5047 Cashion Drive
Hilliard, OH 43026
Phone: 614-716-1153
dlcase@aep.com

Treasurer
James Rumph, CFE, CPA, CIA, CAMS, MAFF, CVA, ALMI

Nationwide Insurance
rumphj1@nationwide.com

Board Member
Kerri Bashore, CFE, CAMS

Crowe Horwath
Regulatory Risk Senior Consultant
Kerri.Bashore@crowehorwath.com

Board Member
Melissa Butsko, CFE

JPMorgan Chase Bank
melissa.c.butsko@jpmchase.com

Board Member 
Nancy Barber, CFE, CIA

Nancy.barber@bwc.state.oh.us

Board Member
James McClary, CFE, CIFI, SCLA, AIC

jmcclary@kemper.com

Training Director
Adam Featherling, CFE, CIFI

National SIU Director
Kemper Insurance
afeatherling@kemper.com

Share This